Show download pdf controls
  • Our governance structure

    Our governance structure consists of a range of senior management committees, group leadership committees, key corporate committees and program boards, and consultation groups. See also the ATO organisational structure.

    Figure 3.1 ATO governance structure, as at 30 June 2017

    Chart showing the ATO’s governance structure. A text version of this image is available via the link below.

    A text version of Figure 3.1 is available as an alternative to this image.

    The Commissioner is supported by the ATO Executive and the Audit and Risk Committee. See also the members of the Executive team and their specific responsibilities.

    The Audit and Risk Committee provides the Commissioner with independent advice. It provides independent assurance to the Commissioner on the ATO’s financial and performance reporting responsibilities, risk oversight and management, and systems of internal control. The committee has five members, including three independent members who are external to the ATO:

    • Jennifer Clarke was appointed in 2011 and has broad experience in business, finance and governance, through a career as an investment banker and as a non-executive Director since 1991. She is currently a member of a number of audit committees, including for the Attorney-General’s Department, the Department of Defence, the Australian Bureau of Statistics and the Department of Finance.
    • John Brown was appointed in 2013 and is a retired KPMG partner with comprehensive experience in a range of areas, including accounting, audit, information technology audit, and due diligence and risk management. He has extensive audit committee experience, including at the Department of Defence and the Australian Broadcasting Corporation.
    • Peter Achterstraat was appointed in 2013 and has an accounting and finance background and extensive public sector experience. He has been involved in over 20 audit and risk committees, including seven state-owned electricity corporations, water utility corporations, and transport and infrastructure organisations.

    Our consultation framework is organised into whole-of-system stewardship groups, stakeholder relationship groups and special purpose working groups. We have nine stewardship groups with diverse representation to enhance, at the highest level, our engagement with different client segments, tax practitioners, the superannuation industry, and others with a role in the tax and superannuation systems.

    Stewardship groups have been established to consult on high-level significant matters where the outcomes are considered to be in the national interest, and provide opportunities to discuss the strategic direction of the tax system – specifically opportunities for improvements to its administration. The nine groups are:

    • GST Stewardship Group
    • Individuals Stewardship Group
    • Large Business Stewardship Group
    • National Tax Liaison Group
    • Not-for-Profit Stewardship Group
    • Private Groups Stewardship Group
    • Small Business Stewardship Group
    • Superannuation Industry Stewardship Group
    • Practitioner Stewardship Group.

    The Consultation Steering Group performs an oversight role across the ATO’s consultation arrangements and ensures that consultation efforts are on track and the right people are involved. It can also influence the direction of future consultation.


      Last modified: 30 Oct 2017QC 53684