Show download pdf controls
  • Energy and Resources Working Group

    The Energy and Resources Working Group comprises representatives from tax professional bodies, resource industry associations and the ATO. The working group consults on issues relating to:

    • income tax
    • resource rent taxes (petroleum resource rent tax and the now-repealed minerals resource rent tax)
    • other taxes as they directly impact on the energy and resources sector
    • general administration issues affecting the mining and petroleum industries.

    The meetings also provide an opportunity to identify, discuss and jointly resolve significant technical and administrative issues, including potential ways to reduce compliance costs prior to the lodgment of returns, or the commencement of review activity. This provides taxpayers with enhanced certainty regarding lodgments and positions adopted prior to transactions occurring.

    The ATO consultation protocol underpins our consultation framework arrangements.

    Contact details

    The secretariat of the Energy and Resources Working Group can be contacted by email at E&


    Members include representatives of the major tax, law and accounting associations, representatives of resource industry associations, and senior members of the ATO. Treasury and Department of Industry and Science officers also attend.

    Members include representatives of the following professional bodies and industry associations:

    AMPLA The Resources and Energy Law Association

    Association of Mining and Exploration Companies

    Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association

    Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand

    CPA Australia

    Institute of Public Accountants

    Law Council of Australia

    Minerals Council of Australia

    The Tax Institute

    Others may be invited by the Chair to participate in meetings to discuss specific issues.

    If you would like a copy of the group Charter, email us at E&


    Minutes of meetings are available below:

    For prior minutes or key messages, email and specify what you require.

    Last modified: 06 Jul 2021QC 47857