Show download pdf controls
  • Legal Practitioners Round Table

    The Legal Practitioners Round Table is a consultative group that brings together all State and Territory legal professional bodies, including the Law Council of Australia and the Australian Corporate Lawyers Association. The Round Table enables a regular, ongoing relationship between us and the legal profession. It also allows legal practitioners to identify potential areas for reducing red tape and other improvements.

    This group shares feedback on:

    • their membership’s interactions with us
    • the quality and effectiveness of our services to the profession and their clients.

    The ATO consultation protocol underpins our consultation framework arrangements.

    Contact details

    You can contact the secretariat at


    The Legal Practitioner Round Table is chaired by the Deputy Commissioner Review and Dispute Resolution, Debbie Hastings.

    External members



    Patrick Walsh

    Gadens Law (ATO panel firm representative)

    Peter Walton

    Jackson McDonald (ATO panel firm representative)

    Dr Gerry Bean

    Law Council of Australia

    Tony Riordan

    Law Council of Australia

    Andrea Michaels

    Law Society of South Australia

    Kellie Grainger

    Law Society of Northern Territory & Northern Territory Bar Association

    Steven Stevens

    Law Society of Victoria

    Michael Flynn

    Victorian Bar Association

    John Hockley

    Law Society of Western Australia & Western Australia Bar Association

    Carmen McElwain

    Minter Ellison (ATO panel firm representative)

    Stephen McMillan

    NSW Bar Association (and ACT Bar Association)

    Tania Waterhouse

    NSW Law Society (and ACT Law Society)

    David Marks

    Queensland Bar Association

    David Hughes

    Queensland Law Society

    Jan Martin

    South Australian Bar

    Damien Egan

    Tasmanian Law Society (and Tasmanian Bar)

    Cindy Penrose (CEO)

    Australian Bar Association and NSW Bar Association

    Glenn Caligaris

    McInnes Wilson Lawyers (ATO panel firm representative)

    Khaled Metlaj

    Craddock Murray Neumann (ATO panel firm representative)

    Charles Bavin

    Hunt and Hunt (ATO panel firm representative)

    Deon Wong

    Association of Corporate Counsel Australia

    Kate Farrell – Chair

    Taxation Law Committee NSW Young Lawyers

    Sara Samios

    Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of Legal Service Co-ordination, Attorney-General's Department

    Professor Tania Sourdin

    Dean and Head of School, Newcastle Law School

    Anne-Marie Boumerhe

    Government Lawyers Segment Manager, The Law Society of NSW

    ATO members



    Debbie Hastings

    Deputy Commissioner, Review and Dispute Resolution

    Grahame Tanna

    Assistant Commissioner, Review and Dispute Resolution

    Robert Torrisi

    Director, Review and Dispute Resolution

    Steven Atkins

    Assistant Commissioner, Debt


    Minutes of meetings are available below:

    For prior minutes or key messages, email and specify what you require.

    Last modified: 13 Sep 2018QC 43944