Large Business Liaison Group minutes - 17 November 2014

Meeting details


Canavan Conference Room

Level 9 Room 713

747 Collins Street, Docklands



Monday 17 November 2014






Frank Drenth, Executive Director, Corporate Tax Association


Margaret Mahoney


(02) 6216 8068


ATO representatives

Neil Olesen

Second Commissioner Compliance Group

Michael Cranston

Deputy Commissioner, Private Groups and High Wealth Individuals

Shane Reardon

Deputy Commissioner Public Groups, Public Groups and International

James O’Halloran

Deputy Commissioner, Indirect Tax

Megan Yong

Assistant Deputy Commissioner, Public Groups and International


Rob Heferen

Executive Director, Revenue Group, Treasury

Business community representatives

George Chenouda

Tax Manager, Caltex

Vanda Davis

Director of Tax Australia, Ford Motor Company of Australia

Frank Drenth

Executive Director, Corporate Tax Association – Meeting Chair

Elizabeth Ellet

Head of Tax Australia, Lend Lease (attending on behalf of Paul Hooper, Group Head of Tax, Lend Lease)

Craig Hespe

Group General Manager, Taxation, Insurance Australia Group

Trevor Hughes

Managing Partner Business Tax Services, Ernst & Young (attending on behalf of Michael Johnston, Finance Director, Consolidated Press Holdings [‘G100’ representative])

James Loughhead

Head of Tax, Corporate and Institutional Tax, Westpac Banking Corporation (attending on behalf of Michael Barbour, General Manager, Westpac Banking Corporation)

Premila Roe

Head of Tax, Optus

Pero Stojanovski

Senior Economist, Business Council of Australia

Dr Niv Tadmore

Law Council of Australia

David Watkins

Partner, National Tax, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu

Robert Zizic

Group Taxation Manager, IBM Australia & New Zealand

Guest presenters

Les De Wind

Assistant Commissioner, Indirect Tax

Jeff Stevenson

Assistant Commissioner, Public Groups and International

Leigh Chambers

Project Manager, Public Groups and International

Andrew Ditchfield

Senior Director, Indirect Tax

Tony Markesich

Compliance Project Director, Public Groups and International

Jonathan Woodger

Deputy Chief Tax Counsel

Malcolm Allen

Assistant Commissioner, Public Groups and International

Mark Tomlinson

Senior Tax Counsel

Julia Donohue

Director, Hoffmann Donohue Pty Ltd (Facilitating discussion under Agenda Items 5 and 6)

Michelle de Niese

Assistant Director, Corporate Tax Association


Margaret Mahoney

Director, Public Groups and International, ATO


Chris Jordan

Commissioner of Taxation, ATO

Michael Barbour

General Manager, Westpac Banking Corporation

Paul Hooper

Group Head of Tax, Lend Lease

Michael Johnston

Finance Director, Consolidated Press Holdings (‘G100’ representative)

Michael Lawry

Tax Manager, Santos

Karl Wood

Chair, GST working group, Property Council of Australia

    Last modified: 13 Apr 2015QC 44814