Show download pdf controls
  • Second Commissioners

    David Butler

    David Butler

    David leads our business operations, technology and knowledge-management functions.

    He has a law degree from the Australian National University and is admitted to practice as a barrister and solicitor. He also holds a certificate in commerce/accounting and has attended senior executive programs at the London Business School, Queens University in Ontario, Canada, and the Australian Management College.

    From February 2001 to March 2007 David was the Chief Executive and Commissioner of the New Zealand Inland Revenue Department. He was the head of the OECD's Tax Administration and Consumption Taxes Division in Paris, France from April 2007 to September 2008. David has also been on posting to the Canada Revenue Agency in Ottawa.

    He has represented both Australia and New Zealand at numerous OECD, Commonwealth Association of Tax Administrators and Study Group on Asian Tax Administration and Research conferences.

    David is a lead reviewer for performance improvement framework reviews of New Zealand Government departments. He is also a member of an information technology advisory board for the New Zealand Government.

    He is an independent member of the Department of Health and Ageing National Alignment Board and the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Change Management Committee.

    David was appointed to the position of Second Commissioner for the period 22 September 2008 to 21 September 2015.

    Jennie Granger PSM

    Jennie Granger

    Jennie has overall responsibility for our law practice, corporate governance, people and resource management.

    Holding degrees in arts and law from the University of New South Wales and a graduate diploma in corporate management, Jennie is admitted as a solicitor of the Supreme Court of NSW.

    Jennie is a member of the government's consultation panel on establishing a Tax System Advisory Board to the Commissioner of Taxation, the University of New South Wales Law Advisory Committee, and the International Monetary Fund Panel of Tax Administration experts. She recently became an external adviser to the Carbon Price Implementation Program Board.

    In January 2009 Jennie was awarded a Public Service Medal for 'outstanding public service in administration of taxation in Australia and internationally', in part for bringing greater openness and transparency to the ATO's compliance activities.

    In June 2009 Jennie was seconded to the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. As Deputy Secretary, she led the Office of the Coordinator-General, responsible for oversight of the implementation of the Government's Nation Building Economic Stimulus Plan.

    Jennie was originally appointed to the position of Second Commissioner on 5 September 2002. She was reappointed to this position from 5 September 2009 to 4 September 2016.

    Bruce Quigley

    Bruce Quigley

    Bruce oversees the delivery of our compliance program.

    Bruce holds degrees in accounting and law, is a fellow of the Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants, a fellow of the Taxation Institute and has been admitted as a barrister of the Supreme Court of New South Wales.

    Bruce led the team that developed Australia's GST legislation and played a key role in the introduction of Australia's New Tax System.

    He is considered an international expert in GST and has provided advice to overseas jurisdictions as well as presenting papers at international conferences. Bruce was seconded to New Zealand in the mid 1980s to assist with the development of their GST. He has also provided advice to Malaysia on the implementation of a GST.

    Bruce has represented Australia at many international forums, including the OECD, the Forum on Tax Administration Bureau and was the Australian representative to the Commonwealth Association of Tax Administrators.

    Bruce has been with the ATO for almost 40 years and has extensive managerial and technical experience in tax administration, policy and legislation. He has also been a Deputy Registrar of the Child Support Agency.

    Bruce was Deputy Chief Tax Counsel until appointed Second Commissioner Law from 18 December 2006. In July 2009 Bruce was appointed Second Commissioner Compliance, until 17 December 2013.

    FIGURE 1: Our organisational structure, at 30 June 2011

    FIGURE 1: Our organisational structure, at 30 June 2011

      Last modified: 31 Oct 2011QC 28036