GST Stewardship Group

The GST Stewardship Group encompasses a business, academic and broader community perspective on the operation and sustainability of GST.

The ATO consultation protocol underpins the ATO’s consultation framework arrangements.

Contact details

The secretariat of the GST Advisory group can be contacted by email at




Australian Taxation Office  


Australian Taxation Office

Tim Dyce (co chair) Deputy Commissioner, Indirect Tax

Australian Taxation Office

Paul Southwell Assistant Commissioner, Indirect Tax

Australian Taxation Office

Gordon Brysland, Senior Tax Counsel




Christopher Lyon

States and Territories  


States and Territories Representative

Giles Wilmer



Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CAANZ)

Kevin O'Rourke (co chair)

CPA Australia

Ken Fehily, Principal, Fehily Advisory

The Tax Institute (TTI)

Bastian Gasser

Executive Director, Ernst & Young

Corporate Tax Association (CTA)

Paul Suppree, Assistant Director

Australian Bankers Association (ABA)

Chris Plakias, Head of Tax, Westpac Bank

Law Council of Australia

Andrew Sommer, Partner Clayton Utz

Council of Small Business of Australia (COSBOA)

Paul Nielsen, Board of Directors & Chairperson

Property Council of Australia (PCA)

Andrew Howe, Director, Greenwoods & Freehills Pty Ltd


George Nikolaou, Manager GST, WET & Excise, Coles Finance


Professor Michael Walpole, Deputy Head, School of Tax & Business Law UNSW

Statement of intent

Our consultation framework includes eight stewardship groups with strategic relationship and advisory roles focused on consultation that provides enduring benefit and adds value to Australia’s tax and superannuation systems. These groups are our peak consultative groups.

The GST Stewardship Group membership encompasses a business, academic and broader community perspective. This provides not only views on the operation and sustainability of GST, but also offers insights into the quality and effectiveness of the GST system as it may influence our administration and future policy related considerations.

All members possess a current understanding of the GST system in operation which enables fruitful discussions in the national interest. They have a commitment to improving the administration and operation of the goods and services tax system into the future.


Minutes of meetings held in the past three years are available.

To get other minutes for this group, email and specify what you require. We will acknowledge your request within one working day and provide the requested minutes within five working days.

Last modified: 01 Aug 2016QC 43730