Not-for-profit Stewardship Group

The Not-for-profit Stewardship Group was established in November 2013 to consider matters of strategic importance to not-for-profit clients. 

The group includes members that represent a broad spectrum of not-for-profit clients, expanding our previous charity-only focus.

The ATO consultation protocol underpins the consultation framework arrangements.

See the Not-for-profit Stewardship overview page for details about the key focus areas for the group, membership criteria, length of appointments and what we expect of members.

On this page:


Not-for-profit Stewardship Group members



NFP Strategy Team and Client Experience

ATO Chair
Rod Walker

Catholic Social Services Australia

Community Chair
Joe Zabar

Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC)

Murray Baird

Arts Law Centre

Robyn Ayres

Australian Centre for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Studies, QUT

Prof. Myles McGregor-Lowndes

Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD)

Phil Butler


Nunzio Giunta CPA

Herbert Smith Freehills

John Emerson

Jobs Australia Ltd and member of the Board of the National Roundtable of Nonprofit Organisations

David Thompson AM

Justice Connect

Juanita Pope

Law Council of Australia

Jennifer Batrouney QC

Philanthropy Australia

Krystian Seibert

Prolegis Lawyers

Anne Robinson AM

Salvation Army

John McIntosh

Tax Institute

Michelle Hartman


Murray Crowe


Minutes of meetings are available below:

Contact us

If you have any questions about the work of the NFP Stewardship Group or if you would like to submit an issue for the group to consider, you can email us at

If you would like to speak to someone, add this request to your email and we will call you.

Last modified: 29 Aug 2016QC 43735