Show download pdf controls
  • Small Business Stewardship Group

    The Small Business Stewardship Group is one of the stewardship groups operated by the ATO as a means of improving the client experience and administration of Australia’s taxation and superannuation system.

    The group provides an opportunity for strategic discussion to develop and improve the administration and operation of the taxation and superannuation system into the future.

    The group will focus on:

    • identifying opportunities to improve the taxation and superannuation system to make it easy to get things right and hard not to, through an understanding of the effects on the small business sector
    • gaining insights into issues faced by the small business sector to improve future approaches and processes
    • being a conduit for information-sharing between the ATO and small businesses via engagement, education and communication within networks.

    The ATO consultation protocol underpins our consultation framework arrangements.


    The secretariat of the Small Business Stewardship Group can be contacted via email at


    Group membership details




    Deborah Jenkins (Co-chair), Small Business


    Andrew Watson, Small Business


    Emma Rosenzweig, Superannuation and Employer Obligations


    Michelle Crosby, Australian Business Registry Services


    Vivek Chaudhary, Lodge and Pay

    Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

    Jenny Lambert

    Australian Lottery and Newsagents Association

    Michael Renshaw

    Australian Retailers Association

    Jason Robertson

    Australian Small Business and Family Enterprise Ombudsman

    Bruce Billson (Co-chair)

    Australian Veterinary Association

    Moss Siddle

    Business Enterprise Centres Australia

    John Todd

    Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand

    Susan Franks

    Council of Small Business Organisations Australia

    Alexi Boyd

    Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources

    Peter Cully

    Direct Selling Association of Australia Inc

    Gillian Stapleton

    Indigenous Business Australia

    Greg Ellis

    Institute of Certified Bookkeepers

    Matthew Addison

    Motor Trades Association of Australia

    Richard Dudley

    Real Estate Institute of Australia

    Jock Kreitals

    Restaurant and Catering Industry Association

    Hugo Robinson

    Small Business Operator

    Deborah Cook

    Small Business Operator

    Paul Meissner

    Small Business Operator

    Tony Sama


    Bede Fraser

    Key messages

    Key messages from meetings held in the last three years are available below.

    Regular meetings

    Special briefings

    For prior key messages and minutes, email and specify what you require.

    Last modified: 22 Apr 2022QC 43725