ato logo
Search Suggestion:

Large Business Stewardship Group

What the Large Business Stewardship Group does, contact details, members and key messages from meetings.

Last updated 19 February 2024

The Large Business Stewardship Group is one of the Stewardship groups operated by the ATO as a means of improving the client experience and administration of Australia’s taxation, superannuation and registry systems.

The group provides an opportunity for strategic discussion to improve the administration and operation of the taxation, superannuation and registry systems into the future.

The group will focus on:

  • identifying opportunities to improve the taxation and superannuation system to make it easy to get things right and hard not to, through an understanding of the effects on the large business sector
  • gaining insights into issues faced by the large business sector to improve future approaches and processes
  • providing opportunities to discuss the strategic direction of the tax system, specifically, opportunities for improvements to its administration and supporting key relationships that reflect the broader community
  • providing an effective and dynamic approach to community consultation and engagement in relation to the design and administration of the tax system by the ATO.


The secretariat of the Large Business Stewardship Group can be contacted by email at


Group membership details




Rebecca Saint (Co-chair), Public Groups


Fiona Knight, Public Groups


Hector Thompson, International, Support and Programs


Melissa Spurge, Public Groups


Michael Ingersoll, Public Groups


Michelle Sams, Public Groups

Australian Banking Association

Darren Norman

Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association

Michael Fenner

Australian Retirement Trust

Ian Roberts

BHP Billiton Limited

Premila Roe

Big 4 Representative

Alia Lum


Irene Filippone

Board of Taxation

Michelle Calder

Business Council of Australia

Pero Stojanovski

Corporate Tax Association

Michelle de Niese (Co-chair)

Group of 100

Marc Lewis

Law Council of Australia

Adrian Varrasso


Angela Giunta

Property Council of Australia

Kelly Wong


Brian Purdy

The Tax Institute

Pete Rhodes


Diane Brown


Marty Robinson

Key messages

Key messages from meetings held in the last 3 years are available below.

For prior key messages, email the secretariat and specify what you require.