House of Representatives

Tax Laws Amendment (2014 Measures No. 1) Bill 2014

Explanatory Memorandum

(Circulated by the authority of the Treasurer, Hon J. B. Hockey MP)


The following abbreviations and acronyms are used throughout this explanatory memorandum.

Abbreviation Definition
AAT Administrative Appeals Tribunal
ADI authorised deposit-taking institutions
APRA Australian Prudential Regulation Authority
ASIC Australian Securities and Investment Commission
Banking Act Banking Act 1959
Commissioner Commissioner of Taxation
FMD Farm Management Deposit
GST Act A New Tax System (Goods and Services Tax) Act 1999
ITAA 1997 Income Tax Assessment Act 1997
Naidoo Naidoo v Commissioner of Taxation [2013] AATA 443
NRAC National Rural Advisory Council
Sportsbet International All Sports v Commissioner of Taxation [2011] FCA 824 (Sportsbet)
TAA 1953 Taxation Administration Act 1953

View full documentView full documentBack to top