Malaysian Agreement  

Malaysian Protocol (No 1)  

Article 3 of the Agreement is amended by:

(a) deleting subparagraphs (a) and (b) of paragraph 1 and substituting the following:

" (a) the term " Australia " , when used in a geographical sense, excludes all external territories other than:

(i) the Territory of Norfolk Island;

(ii) the Territory of Christmas Island;

(iii) the Territory of Cocos (Keeling) Islands;

(iv) the Territory of Ashmore and Cartier Islands;

(v) the Territory of Heard Island and McDonald Islands; and

(vi) the Coral Sea Islands Territory,
and includes any area adjacent to the territorial limits of Australia (including the Territories specified in this subparagraph) in respect of which there is for the time being in force, consistently with international law, a law of Australia dealing with the exploitation of any of the natural resources of the seabed and subsoil of the continental shelf;

(b) the term " Malaysia " means the territories of the Federation of Malaysia, the territorial waters of Malaysia and the sea-bed and subsoil of the territorial waters, and includes any area extending beyond the limits of the territorial waters of Malaysia, and the sea-bed and subsoil of any such area, which has been or may hereafter be designated under the laws of Malaysia and in accordance with international law as an area over which Malaysia has sovereign rights for the purposes of exploring and exploiting the natural resources, whether living or non-living; "
; and

(b) deleting the full stop at the end of paragraph 3 and adding " from time to time in force. "

This information is provided by CCH Australia Limited Link opens in new window. View the disclaimer and notice of copyright.