House of Representatives

Tax Laws Amendment (2009 Budget Measures No. 2) Bill 2009

Income Tax (TFN Withholding Tax (ESS)) Bill 2009

Explanatory Memorandum

(Circulated by the authority of the Treasurer, the Hon Wayne Swan MP)


The following abbreviations and acronyms are used throughout this explanatory memorandum.

Abbreviation Definition
ABN Australian Business Number
ATO Australian Taxation Office
CGT capital gains tax
Commissioner Commissioner of Taxation
DASP Act Superannuation (Departing Australia Superannuation Payments Tax) Act 2007
ESS employee share scheme
FBT fringe benefits tax
FBTAA 1986 Fringe Benefits Tax Assessment Act 1986
ITAA 1936 Income Tax Assessment Act 1936
ITAA 1997 Income Tax Assessment Act 1997
IT(TP)A 1997 Income Tax (Transitional Provisions) Act 1997
MEC multiple entry consolidated groups
S(UMLM) Act Superannuation (Unclaimed Money and Lost Members) Act 1999
TAA 1953 Taxation Administration Act 1953
Temporary Residents Act Temporary Residents' Superannuation Legislation Amendment Act 2008
TFN tax file number
the Regulations Income Tax Assessment Regulations 1997

View full documentView full documentBack to top